What Customers Are Saying About Us

Logo_Tripadvisor

Most often will happen you to read about us mainly on Tripadvisor and that’s because when we started our B&B this website was not particurarly know in Europe and allowed us to be listed on Rome B&B list. With big surprise of everybody we managed shortly to be considered for several years one of the top 3 B&B in Rome against some great B&B in Rome downtown.

This until Tripadvisor re-designed the website and moved us in Rome Province, a remote corner of their website that make impossibile any comparasion about B&B in and outside Rome.

Tripadvisor readers known the importance of writing reviews and trip reports and that’s why until 2011 you’ll find hundreds of great reviews rating us one of the best locations to stay in Rome area.

Nowdays  most of our guests find us through other sources, not necessarly they know the importance of a review and this produced a drastic reduction of them but nothing changed in terms of quality and rating.

Below you’ll find a small sample of our reviews. Feel free to read more of Olive Tree Hill’s best bed and breakfast reviews on Trip Advisor.

Trip Advisor B&B Reviews

A couple of people on trip advisor attempted to dissuade us from staying in Zagarolo, saying that staying in Rome would be far better, and we are so glad we went against this advice… This B & B is in a very relaxing beautiful location and is the perfect retreat after an exhausting day sightseeing in Rome. Zagarolo is only a half hour train journey from Rome and we were taken to and collected from the station everyday…. We had excellent service during our stay and in fact we felt we received a quality of service over and above what we had expected. We would have no hesitation in returning and would highly recommend this location to anyone who wants a peaceful location and greats service for a fair price.”
Guest from Cardiff, Wales October 2009 

“Once you arrive and learn about the surrounding area you will find so many things to see that you will probably not want to spend every minute in Rome.However if you do decide to go this quiet and peaceful place is the perfect location. It was so nice to visit the city and then return to Zagarolo to the tranquility of the B&B so that we could sit back and unwind. There was nothing like the enjoyment of a good glass of wine and great conversation with Ivano and Tehri before sitting down to a wonderful dinner with their family and the other guests where we could all discuss what we did that day and our plans for the next.”
Chris P, Melbourne, FL, July 2012

“This area of Italy (Lazio region, south of Rome) does not attract as many tourists, so we feel that we get a more genuine flavor of Italian life, and there are plenty of things to see and do (ancient towns, churches, festivals, walks in the hills, lakes) without fighting the crowds.
And yet, you are very close to Rome, easy to go in for the day.”
 Bill T, Seattle Washington, 2011

Great Place to Stay Outside of Rome! We knew we wanted to stay outside of Rome and we’re very happy to stumble upon Ivano and Terri’s place. We felt it was a humble jewel nestled in the Lazio countryside…. If you care about good food good company and want to be noticed and guided to have the best experience possible while visiting Rome I suggest this B&B.”
Sheri T, San Francisco California, 2011

“The welcome could not have been warmer, the accommodation first class and absolutely spotlessly clean, the food was perfect – a huge variety for breakfast and dinner with no two meals the same, and the quality of Ivano’s cooking would beat restaurant standards every time!”
 Guest from Broadicia, Lancaster, United Kingdom, July 2011

“This B&B is one of the best places I have ever stayed and I definitely want to go back.”
 Lou, Ireland, September 2010

“Lovely holiday in friendly B&B for visiting Rome. We had a great holiday at Olive Tree Hill thanks to all the help and advice from Ivano and Terhi. Ivano was happy to cook special dairy free meals for me, which were much appreciated and couldn’t be more helpful in suggesting the best places to visit and how to travel around Rome. We especially enjoyed his taxi service to Tivoli and Palestrina and the guided tour of Zagarolo. It was also lovely to sit in the garden in the sun after a tiring day sightseeing… We would recommend this special B&B to anyone visiting Rome or the countryside around. 

 Sue, Stockport, United Kingdom, April 2011 

“The best B&B. My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with at II Colle during our visit to Rome a few years ago. This was one of the best B&B experiences we’ve ever had! The owners are incredibly warm and welcoming, what wonderful ambassadors of Italia! The accommodations were very comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced. We hope to get back to Italy very soon, and we hope that we can find room with II Colle again!”
Guests from Chicagao Illanois, January 2011

Best B&B that I have ever visited, including an awesome place in Cashel, Ireland.” 

Visitor June 2011

“My wife and I selected Il Colle degli Ulivi initially for three reasons; price, reviews and the location away from the bustle of Rome. We stayed for a total of 11 days and it was the most memorable experience of our trip. Considering that we spent over a week in Rome plus time in Florence and in Assisi, that is saying a lot…. For people who want to have a relaxing good time, do yourselves a favor and check out Il Colle degli Ulivi.”
 Bill Dayton, Ohio July 2010

Your hosts are experts in local history and will arrange special trips for your group. Just ask for what you want to see or even better ask them about the unknown sights in the area for a true taste of Italy. They will set up personalized tours for small groups or even help plan a destination wedding or a family gathering….To sum it up: over-the-top services, fabulous food, great conversations, relaxing environment, dietary considerations, friendly cats in the gardens, fresh air, easy access to Rome attractionsgreat for families with children, great hosts!
Guest from Raleigh, North Carolina May 2010 

“The way to experience the REAL Italy! We took a chance booking this little B&B outside of Rome, and it turned out to be our favourite accommodation! It’s an easy 30 minute train ride from Roma Termini train station, and was a nice way to wind down from a busy day touring the big city…. Don’t stay in a sterile hotel – stay here, and taste the REAL Italy! You won’t be disappointed!”
 Guest from August 2009

“We too are members of the fan club for Olive Tree Hill. It seems impossible that a place with such great service exists but it’s true!… We also enjoyed a private day tour with Terhi of nearby Anagni (amazing crypt in Duomo) and Ferentino’s Cyclopean walls. My wife enjoyed her cooking class with Ivano and the results were delicious. Olive Tree Hill is an excellent value for the money. Go and you’ll be a fan too!”
Guest from Durham, CA July 2009

“Gorgeous Rome B&B. We were looking for accommodations that would give us a true Italia experience; our stay at Il Colle went above and beyond our expectations….Il Colle is the perfect location for visiting Rome– close enough but also far enough away from the chaotic hussle and bussle of the huge city. A quick train ride and you can enjoy the countryside and the city!”
 Colette and Tim, Tustin, CA January 2009

“If you wish to experience an Italian cultural and culinary holiday combined with the opportunity to relax then this is the place for you! It is worth bearing in mind that in these days of global financial recession Il Colle degli Ulivi is great value for money. Don’t miss it!”
 John and Carol from Glasgow!, September 2008

“What wonderful hosts! What a GREAT location! It is just a short train ride from the center of Rome. It was a little piece of paradise and the hosts were …. well …. you can’t really describe them as anything except OUTSTANDING. They make life easy. They are great communicators. Ivano is an amazing cook. And we were grateful to NOT be in Rome central. It was quiet, and the accommodations were excellent. We’ve stayed at the Four Seasons and at various Ritz Carltons around the world. Forget them. This is the real deal. Amazing!!!”
Mace, Gothenburg, July 2008

If you are at all concerned about staying outside of the city center of Rome, don’t be! It was very easy to get back and forth between Zagarolo and Rome. Ivano took us to and picked us up from the train station. The most wonderful part about it was that, after spending the day in the hustle-bustle of Rome, we got to go back to our quaint, quiet B&B to enjoy dinner with Ivano and Tehri!”
Landi and Josh, November 2007

“My wife and I had a much too short 3-night visit at Il Colle degli Ulivi, and were treated so warmly by Ivano and Terhi that we felt like family. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Rome. It is an easy (and cheap) 30-40 minute train ride from Rome Termini, and Ivano or Terhi pick you up from the Zagarolo station….Their beautiful home is on lush farmland only a few minutes drive from the station. The cottage in the back has two rooms and is extremely comfortable and clean, surrounded by olive and fruit trees, plus a beautiful and fragrant herb garden….This lovely couple goes way above and beyond the normal service, offering you a visit you’ll never forget! This is truly a special place and will surely be a wonderful respit for any weary traveler looking for some relaxation in between all that hectic sightseeing. Thank you Ivano and Terhi for such wonderful memories!”
Guests Greg & Kim


“My husband and I planned to stay in Rome for two days out of our first two-week European vacation. We ended up staying five days once we got to this beautiful cottage and wished we could have spent our whole trip in the Italian countryside! Terhi and Ivano were the perfect hosts kindly making sure we caught all the right buses, knew the best spots to visit around Rome, and best of all came back to relax and enjoy our quiet spot outside of the city. One of our favorite experiences staying here was the lovely cuisine prepared in true Italian fashion from homemade strudels to pizza and family wine. We can hardly wait until our travels lead us once again to II Colle degli Ulivi!!”
Shelly Castro, Roseville, California – 2011

Hopefully some of these Olive Tree Hill B&B Trip Advisor reviews have helped you understand why some consider this as one of the best places to stay in Rome. Zagarolo is thought to be a best location to stay in Rome Metropolitan Area because it provides easy access to the tourist sites of Rome central, while also bursting with it’s own hidden gems and history.

When you come to visit, don’t do mistakes, consider visiting some of the charming towns outside of Rome